Creating a Homeschool Portfolio

Writer’s Note:  Since I live in West Virginia, an annual assessment is required as well as the Notice of Intent mentioned below.  My portfolio was created to meet those requirements as well as be a keepsake of my child’s school year.

This was my first year creating a portfolio…EVER.  I spent many hours searching online for a portfolio which would fit my active lifestyle.  Personally, I was not happy with anything I found.  All the examples were either too complicated or didn’t provide enough how-to pictures or instructions.  I wanted something simple, straightforward, and something which wouldn’t take me FOREVER to put together!  So, I gathered the different pieces from those I liked and created my own portfolio style!

So let’s break it down:

Gather the Supplies:  notebook, plastic sheet protectors, index tabs, paper, computer/printer (optional)

Step 1:  First and foremost, find out what your portfolio evaluator requires!  I began this process thinking I needed to include examples of almost ALL my child’s work and was pleasantly surprised how little I actually needed.  Now, of course, still wanting to be on the cautious side (and being a proud parent) I still included a larger amount than was required. 😉

Step 2:  Choose a sturdy binder and a package of sheet protectors.  I bought a nice 3 inch binder on Amazon and chose clear heavyweight sheet protectors.  The sheet protectors will keep each entry of the child’s work safe and give the entire portfolio a clean look.

Step 3:  Design a cover page and spine insert for the binder.  I did this easily in Microsoft Publisher – my go to program for designing pretty much everything in the portfolio!

Picture2

Picture3


Step 4: Create a Table of Contents page to give order to the portfolio.

DSC03094


Step 5:   I chose to include an All About Me page. This would be optional, but since my plan is for the portfolio to also be a keepsake, I wanted to add some “remembrance” items for future years.

Picture1


Step 6: I made a copy of my Notice of Intent to the school board and added it next.

Step 7:  Print out or neatly write the labels for the dividers (which I also bought on Amazon).  Big tip – Make sure you buy dividers that are extra wide, otherwise, the tabs do not stick out past the sheet protectors!!  Each entry under the Table of Contents will have a divider.

DSC03098

Extra Wide Dividers


Step 8: Create a Subject/Objectives Page for each divider.  When I was trying to create these, I could not find good examples of what to actually include.  So basically, I just listed the books/resources we used and the topics which would be or had been covered/learned for each subject.  For most subjects, I could use the chapter titles in the textbook or the Table of Contents to obtain subject objectives.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Step 9:  Start loading the binder with examples of your child’s work!  And no, every example does not need to have a perfect grade!  Include worksheets, tests, pictures of projects/experiments, field trips, etc.  Here are some different examples of things I choose to include:

DSC03108

A Reading Log listing book titles, authors, date started, date finished and whether or not the student or parent (S or P) read the book.


DSC03099

DSC03100

A lapbook about space we made for science.


 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above – I made a Science Experiments tab and created a different section for each topic we covered.  I created all my picture pages in Microsoft Publisher – no cutting and pasting physical pictures!  Being able to print all the pictures directly onto paper was a huge time saver – thank you modern technology!!


DSC03119

An example of a history craft


DSC03120

DSC03107

The Activity Log includes field trips, playdates, homeschool group classes, etc.  I put the list first following with pictures and dates from each activity.


I combined art and music into one section.  I took pictures of “Thing 1” practicing the piano and included music practice charts.  I also combined all his drawings from art class throughout the year into a spiral bound book and just placed it in the section.
“Thing 1” created a cover for his art book.  I laminated the front and back pages and bound it with a comb binding machine.  It looks so professional!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


You can easily create a portfolio throughout the year adding items as you go or procrastinate like I did and throw it all together at the end of the school year!  😛

I did keep all “Thing 1’s” worksheets in other subject labeled  2-3 inch binders and sheet protectors.  This made it easy to quickly flip through them and pull out the pages I wanted to include in the finished portfolio.

And that’s about it!  Again – everyone is different – this is just what worked for me.  Please feel free to leave suggestions or comments below!

3 thoughts on “Creating a Homeschool Portfolio

Leave a Reply

